FR / EN
Home"/
Angalia - About us separateur Angalia - Angalia - Artists separateur Angalia - News separateur Angalia - Why the DRC?
ligne

JP Mika


JP Mika
Born in Kinshasa in 1980. Lives and works in Kinshasa.

Mika has a great gift for drawing and started out at the very young age of 13 painting advertising boards to earn a little money. JP Mika is from a poor family and started to study business while trying to generate income and put money to one side. He finally went to the Academy of Fine Arts late on in life in 2005. He graduated in 2007, convinced that he had the potential to succeed. Chéri Chérin took him under his wing and gave him the opportunity to travel abroad for the first time to exhibit his work in Bilbao in 2008.

Mika’s artistic development then got underway, as he gradually forged his own pathway, freeing himself from the influence of his teacher. He slowly left behind narrative figure painting, switching his attention to simplifying compositions. In 2011, he started his « Deux temps, deux modes » series, in which he compared past and present fashions, depicting animals in line with the popular style which is fond of animal portrayals, and, increasingly, humans. Duality can sometimes be seen in the self-same figure, who is half depicted at their present age and half in their youth. Finally, as of 2013, he developed a liking for portraits. Mika opts for highly colourful backgrounds, using floral print fabrics, which call to mind the wallpapers of yesteryear. These portrayals with a deliberately old-fashioned feel evoke the black and white portrait photographs taken in the 1960s by Seydou Keita, Malick Sidibé and Jean Depara. In a way, JP Mika adds colour to them, albeit not without a dash of derision or nostalgia, and even gentleness.
 
He also includes allusions to Congolese sapeurs and is happy to depict himself, with the skilfully controlled extravagance unique to Congolese artists. He sketches himself uncompromisingly but without any false restraint. After all, he too is an interesting subject, the child of N’Djili who gets the public to bear witness to his dream. Indeed, this dream has come true in summer 2015, as JP Mika has proved to be a resounding success at Beauté Congo, the Cartier Foundation’s major exhibition in Paris. 
 


JP Mika: Photo Album
 


Interview with JP Mika at his studio - Kinshasa, March 2015

FR / EN
Accueil"/
Angalia - Qui sommes-nous? separateur Angalia - Artistes separateur Angalia - Actualités separateur Angalia - Pourquoi le Congo ?
ligne

JP Mika


JP Mika
Né à Kinshasa (RDC) en 1980. Vit à Kinshasa.

Très doué pour le dessin, Jean-Paul Nsimba Mika commence très jeune, dès l’âge de 13 ans, à peindre des panneaux publicitaires pour gagner un peu d’argent. Issu d’une famille pauvre, il entreprend des études commerciales tout en s’efforçant de générer des revenus et de mettre de l’argent de côté. Il entre finalement à l’Académie des Beaux-arts sur le tard, en 2005, et en sort diplômé en 2007. Chéri Chérin le prend alors sous son aile et lui offre l’opportunité d’un premier voyage hors des frontières, en 2008, pour exposer à Bilbao.
 
Commence alors une évolution artistique qui verra Mika s’émanciper graduellement du maître. Il délaisse peu à peu la figuration narrative pour évoluer vers la simplification des compositions. En 2011, il entame sa série « Deux temps, deux modes », dans laquelle il confronte les modes passées et présentes,  mettant en scène des animaux – dans la continuité d’un style populaire qui affectionne les représentations animales – puis, de plus en plus, des hommes. La dualité s’inscrit parfois dans un seul et même personnage figuré moitié dans  son état de jeunesse, moitié dans son âge actuel. Finalement, à partir de 2013, cette évolution débouchera sur une prédilection pour les portraits. JP Mika opte pour des fonds très colorés, en peignant sur des tissus à motifs fleuris qui évoquent les papiers peints d’antan. Ces représentations au tour volontairement suranné rappellent les portraits photos réalisés en noir et blanc dans les années 1960 par Seydou Keita, Malick Sidibé ou Jean Depara. Mika y met en quelque sorte la couleur, en y portant une touche de dérision, de nostalgie, voire de douceur.
 
Il n’oublie pas la référence aux sapeurs congolais et se met volontiers en scène lui-même, avec cette extravagance savamment contrôlée propre aux artistes congolais. Il se croque sans complaisance mais sans fausse retenue. Après tout, il est un sujet intéressant lui aussi, l’enfant de N’Djili qui rend le public témoin de son rêve. Un rêve qui s’est réalisé durant l’été 2015, lorsque JP Mika a triomphé dans « Beauté Congo  », l’exposition de la Fondation Cartier à Paris (juillet 2015-janvier 2016). 



Catalogue de l'exposition "JP Mika!" | Kinshasa, jan-mars 2015


Entretien avec JP Mika à l'atelier - Kinshasa, mars 2015